Prayer of Petition

Prayer of petition is also referred to as supplication.  These are requests that include our personal needs and the needs of others (intercession, which we’ll discuss in another post).  In our petitions, we ask God for whatever needs that concern us; e.g., physical (natural), psychological, spiritual, emotional.  Some scriptures that support this element of prayer are: 2 Corinthians 12:7-10; Philippians 4:6-7; 1 Samuel 1:27.  (There are more; feel free to research yourself).

Also, in Jesus’ model prayer recorded in Luke 11:1-4; Matthew 6:9-13 is this element of prayer—petition (supplication, requests)… “Give us day by day our daily bread… forgive us our sins…do not lead us into temptation…”

These are petitions (requests) made to Father God.  Prayer of petition should be intentional on our part for the purpose of appropriating God’s gifts and resources in order for us to fulfill His purposes by working in and through us.  If our motives for asking are wrong, we won’t receive. This is essence what James meant when he said (paraphrasing) we ask and don’t receive because we ask “amiss” (improperly, wrongly), namely for selfish reasons (James 4:2-3).   

Petition is a privileged element of prayer; therefore, we must be mindful that what we’re requesting (asking) God for is in accordance with His will and purpose.  One important note to remember is that He knows what we need of even before we ask (Matthew 6:8).  Ultimately, the prayer of petition is a privilege that comes with being in relationship with a loving and caring Father.

Below is a sample Prayer of Petition:

Heavenly Father,

Thank you for the privilege of coming boldly to Your throne of grace in the Name of Jesus, my Savior and Lord. According to Your Word I am making my requests known to You knowing that You already know what I need.

Father, I ask that You renew my strength so that I can wait patiently upon You. I ask that my ears and eyes are opened  that I might see,  hear, know and understand Your Word so that I can walk in obedience to Your commands, and share with others.  I ask You to make me alert, awake and attentive in Your thoughts and ways, so that I’m not easily deceived by the enemy. I ask that you help me to be disciplined and a good steward over all that You’ve entrusted to me for my consumption, to bless others and  Kingdom purpose. Above all, Father, I ask that my family (name them) would receive Your Son, Jesus Christ as their Savior and Lord; that they completely surrender their lives to Him in full assurance of the atoning blood that He shed on the cross. Thank you, Father, for the privilege of prayer.  I pray with thanksgiving, in Jesus’ Name. Amen.

 NOTES

  • Even in prayers of petition, you should spend time repenting, thanking, praising and worshiping Father before you start asking for anything.  This is important to gain access into His Presence (Holy of Holies)  and enter into His courts; it positions you in the spiritual realm and gives you clarity in hearing the Holy Spirit give you what to pray for; yes, even your needs.  This way, what you ask for will be aligned with His will.
  •  We have the privilege of asking; however, God’s sovereignty gives Him the right to grant or deny our petition based solely on His will, His plan…His purpose (2 Cor. 12:7-10).
8 thoughts on “Prayer of Petition”

  1. I absolutely love this prayer. Thank you for sharing. i will pray this often for I want to do God’s will over mine. We all should know God wants us to have what we want too..but these things must be good. In other words, these petitions of ours must be asked with good intentions.God knows what is in our hearts.

Leave a Comment

