The Prayer Coach

Home » Prayer » Insight » Prayer of Thanksgiving

Prayer of Thanksgiving

Follow me on Twitter

RSS Patriot’s Project

  • Patriot’s Project New Year’s Prayer
    2014 is here! It seems to have come so quickly, at least for me.  I don’t want to assume you …Continue reading →
  • Dear America
    by Chris Martin. Permission granted to share this post is from my brother in Christ This is the hardest letter …Continue reading →
  • Not Forgotten
    It is so easy to get caught up in the routine of daily living..busy, busy, busy… things to do, places …Continue reading →
  • Memorial Day Prayer, 5/27/13
    Heavenly Father, You are great, and worthy of all praise. We reverence You as the Creator of the Universe, our …Continue reading →
  • Video Roll
    Filed under: Encouragement, Tribute, Videos Tagged: courage, military, Patriot Project, servicemen, servicewomen, United States, US flag, veterans

How timely that we should share this element of prayer—thanksgiving, one day away from the day set aside in the U.S. as Thanksgiving Day.

This form of prayer is repeatedly emphasized as well as demonstrated by Paul in his letters (e.g., 1 Thessalonians 5:18; Colossians 3:15-17).  In our communication with God, we acknowledge our gratefulness for what He has done, is doing presently, and will continue to do in our lives in every aspect.  Because we trust Him to always work to make us better on every level, we can thank Him in advance.  Thanksgiving ought to be a regular part of our prayers.  When we offer thanks to the Lord it should cause us to reflect and call to mind how God has worked in our lives, and blessed us in various ways through family, friends, acquaintances and even strangers.  As we reflect and remember His marvelous works and faithfulness we should be even more confident in the way He will continue to work, and we should become dependent upon Him (Psalm 107).

As parents, you should be able to relate concerning gratitude.  When our children express their gratitude for the things we purchase and give them, we’re more apt to do more simply because they are thankful.   I believe this is the mindset we can have even with our heavenly Father.  When we are thankful for all that He has done, is doing and what we believe He will continue to do, He delights in doing more for us.  As children of God, we should be grateful people (Psalm 50:14a, 23). Thanksgiving is not limited to one day; it is a part of our lifestyle. Why? Because the Lord is good and His mercy endures forever!

Here’s an example of a prayer of thanksgiving:

Heavenly Father,

I come to you in the Name of Jesus, my Lord and Savior. I come to you with a heart of thanksgiving. I thank you for all the good things in my life, for you are the Creator of all things good, and the giver of every good and perfect gift.  Father, I thank you for your presence.  For in your presence is the fullness of joy and in your presence I am complete and whole. In your presence, Father, I have purpose and feel loved. Thank you!  Lord, thank you for your plan for me to live an abundant life and enjoy it to overflowing through your Son, Jesus Christ.  Thank you for saving me and empowering me with your Holy Spirit.  Thank you for your provision, that all my needs are met according to your riches in glory, and that I may prosper in all areas of my life as my soul prospers.  Father, thank you for protecting me and my family, and all those acquainted with me and that I associate with.  Thank you your peace that passes understanding.  The peace that keeps me calm and secure through difficult times and challenging experiences. Thank you, Father, for your written Word that instructs me and comforts me.  Father, thank you for salvation through faith in Christ.  And above all, Father, thank you for my life of victory in you. I am grateful. Amen.

Leave a Comment

Follow The Prayer Coach on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,206 other followers

